top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamhita Gollapallli

HOW I STARTED DANCING BETTER

Updated: Jun 10, 2020


I love dancing. I just love it. It's not because I dance well. I don't dance that well. All those around me know that. I know that I don't move my body with that ease required for dancing. I always felt I couldn't help it if I didn't possess the natural skill of dance. Until I realized, I could help it. I could very much help it


Even though I didn't dance well, from childhood I always took great interest in participating in all the dance programs. My parents and close friends never really discouraged me from dancing, but they didn't encourage me either. Most of them would just say, "You have a sweet voice! Why don't you take part in singing?". All the things my parents and friends told me never stopped me from taking part in dance events. After I joined my BTech, I became a part of a dance group called "Theme Ballet". When I became a part of this group, my confidence just sky-rocketed, only to drain completely, looking at the other dancers. It seemed as if, all the other students who were a part of the group, danced better than me. I felt I was the worst among all of them. All of a sudden I felt shy. I felt I didn't deserve to be a part of the group. I started feeling insecure about my every dance move. Whenever I danced, I only thought about what others were thinking of me. I felt scared to try out a new dance move, thinking that I would fail and people would laugh at me. Instead of concentrating on the dance, I started putting my focus on the people around me and comparing myself with them. The only thing I got out of all that was unhappiness. As I started feeling nervous, I made my body even stiffer and I danced even more badly. One thought became common in my mind, "I can never dance !". The more I tried with these thoughts in my mind, the more unsuccessful I was. But my yearning to take part in events didn't die and so I took part in another small dance event. As I had already lost all my confidence I didn't pressurize myself anymore. I didn't look at others while I practiced, and just enjoyed the songs and each dance move. I was surprised to find that I had performed better when I didn't care about how I was doing it and focused on enjoying what I was doing. I remembered a quote my father once told me when I was a kid, "Never let the fear of striking out, keep you from playing the game." I then understood the true meaning of those words. Indeed, I don't dance that well. But still, I have taken the courage to participate even when I know I don't dance well. Since then, I only thought about giving "my best". "My best" need not be "the best". It can be "the worst" for some people. Yet it is still "my best" and that is what I will give.



164 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page