top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamhita Gollapallli

ONE RAINY DAY

Updated: Aug 4, 2020



I stood on the terrace, enjoying the small breeze of the evening. The air was warm, as it was summer. The warm breeze touched my face, drying out the sweat on my forehead. Before I could feel the hotness in the air, dark clouds gathered. Soon the warm air turned into a cold wind. There was a coconut tree right in front of our flat, and as a kid, I was so sure that someday, the tree would fall into our terrace because of a strong gale. But that never happened. As the cold wind swept across trees, the rain started gushing. I looked up into the sky, hoping childishly if I could see where the rain came from. Even though I know why and how rain falls, every time it’s raining, I am awed by nature. The wind became stronger as the rain started gushing down. It was as if; the wind wanted the upper hand, working to dominate the rain. And it did. It was like someone was spraying water on me. The wind was seeking to get stronger. But the rain overtook the wind, slowly. It started pouring quicker and quicker, making the wind grow weak. I leaned from the terrace to feel the rain on my face. As I drew back from the rain, I noticed a water droplet on my finger. It just stayed there on my finger without getting splashed. It was so transparent, colorless. At that moment, the sun shone from the clouds, giving light to the tiny water droplet on my finger. It looked like a small prism, showing the seven rainbow colors. Looking at the colors, I had a godly feeling of creating the rainbow myself. I felt happy, delighted with nothing else in my mind. I just smiled like a small child, thinking of how this small drop of water made me forget myself. That’s when I realized the importance of little things in life and walked back into the apartment with a big smile on my face.


160 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page