top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamhita Gollapallli

ONE SUMMER NIGHT



It was summer. I was staying at my grandparent's house. The house had a huge balcony with lots of plants and free space. This free space proved to be very useful for my grandmother who had the habit of meditating.


One night, I woke up feeling extremely hot. It was dark, so I didn't know what time it was. I tried to go back to sleep, but all in vain. So, I decided to go to the balcony to get some fresh air.


Wiping the sweat off my forehead, I sauntered into the balcony. It was a full moon night and the moonlight shone on the plants making them shine like silver. It was a beautiful night. I smiled looking around.


And suddenly my smile turned into a scared look, looking at someone or something concealed in white resting on the armchair. My heart almost stopped for a second. My brain was not ready to comprehend what was in front of me. I just stared with a wide-open mouth and absolutely no thoughts in my head.


When I came back to my normal senses, I realized it was my grandma, who was sitting on the armchair. She was meditating with her saree hung on her head, screening her face. And it was not midnight, but 4:00 in the morning.


Just at the time when the truth dawned on me, my grandma opened her eyes to catch me standing with an expressionless look on my face. "What happened? Did you see a ghost or what?", she asked...



143 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page